Registrant's Name: _____



Department of Corrections

NOTIFICATION OF REQUIREMENT TO REGISTER

The crime(s) you have been convicted of requires you to register with the Vermont Sex Offender Registry located at:

Attn: VCIC - Sex Offender Registry Coordinator Vermont Criminal Information Center (VCIC) Department of Public Safety 45 State Drive Waterbury, VT 05671-1300 802-241-5400

In accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 5407 you must comply with the following requirements. By initialing after each requirement, you certify that the requirement has been read to you, and you understand it:

A sex offender shall report to the Department of Public Safety as follows:

□ If convicted of a registry offense in another state, within 10 days after either establishing residence in this State or crossing into this State for the purposes of employment, carrying on a vocation, or being a student. ______ (registrant initial)

□ Annually within 10 days after the registrant's birthday, or if a person is determined to be a sexually violent predator, that person shall report to the Department of Public Safety every 90 days. ______ (registrant initial)

□ Within 3 days after any change in address, or if a person is designated a high-risk sex offender, that person shall report to the Department of Public Safety within 36 hours and shall report whether a child under the age of 18 resides at such address. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Within 3 days after the registrant enrolls in or separates from any postsecondary educational institution. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Within 3 days after any change in place of employment. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Within 3 days of any name change. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Within 3 days of any child under 18 years of age moving into the residence of the registrant. ______ (registrant initial)

□ Within 24 hours of being released from probation, parole, furlough, or a supervised community sentence. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Within 24 hours prior to the offender's scheduled release date from a correctional facility to the community and if the offender is not subject to probation, furlough, or a community sentence upon release that requires supervision by the Vermont Department of Corrections (DOC). ______ (registrant initial)

□ If a sex offender changes residence to another state, or crosses into another state for purposes of employment, carrying on vocation, or being a student, the sex offender shall notify the Department of Public Safety of the new address and shall also register with the designated law enforcement agency in the new state not later than three days after establishing residence in the new state, if the new state has a registration requirement. ______ (registrant initial)

Other registry requirements pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 5407:

□ Complete address verification form and return to VCIC within 10 days of receipt. Sexually violent predators will have to complete the address verification form every 90 days, all other registrants will have to complete the form annually. _____ (registrant initial)

□ A registrant who has no permanent address shall report to the Department of Public Safety to notify it as to his or her temporary residence. Temporary residence, need not include an actual dwelling or numbered street address, but shall identify a specific location. A registrant shall not be required to check in daily if he or she makes acceptable other arrangements with the Department of Public Safety to keep his or her information current. ______ (registrant initial)

□ In accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 5411d, if you are identified as a non-compliant highrisk sex offender then you shall report/comply to the Department of Public Safety as follows:

 \Box In person, within 15 days from the date of release from DOC supervision, and within every 30 days thereafter. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Prior to any change of address. However, if the change of address is unanticipated, the offender shall report within 1 day of the change of address. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Prior to enrollment in or separation from any postsecondary educational institution. However, if the change in school status is unanticipated, the offender shall report within one day of the change. ______ (registrant initial) □ Within one day of any change in a place of employment. _____ (registrant initial)

□ Shall provide the make, model, color, registration, and license plate number of any vehicle the person operates prior to operation. An offender found in operation of a vehicle not on the list provided shall be considered to be in violation of 13 V.S.A. § 5411d. ______ (registrant initial)

□ Have a digital photograph updated annually for the purposes of the electronic Registry as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 5411a. An offender who is requested by the Department of Public Safety to report to the Department or a local law enforcement agency for the purpose of being photographed for the Internet Registry shall comply with the request within 30 days. ______ (registrant initial)

Term of Registration:

□ You must continue to comply with the requirements listed on the previous page for 10 years from the date you are discharged from supervision from the Department of Corrections. If you meet any of the below requirements then you are required to register, and comply with the requirements listed on the previous page for life: (1) at least one prior conviction for an offense described in 13 V.S.A. § 5401(10) or a comparable offense in another jurisdiction of the United States; (2) has been convicted of a sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3252 or aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3253, or a comparable offense in another jurisdiction of the United States; including a state, territory, commonwealth, the District of Columbia, or military, federal, or tribal court; however, if a person convicted 13 V.S.A. § 3252 is not more than six years older than the victim of the assault and if the victim is 14 years of age or older, then the offender shall not be required to register for life if the age of the victim was the basis for the conviction; (3) has been designated as a noncompliant high-risk sex offender pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 5411d. _________ (registrant initial)

Failure to Comply as Non-Compliant High-Risk Sex Offender:

□ A noncompliant high-risk sex offender who knowingly fails to comply with any of the Registry requirements under 13 V.S.A. § 5411d shall be imprisoned for not less than five years and a maximum term of life and, in addition, may be fined not more than \$50,000.00. A sentence may be suspended in whole or in part, or the person may be eligible for parole or release on conditional reentry or furlough, provided the person is subject to intensive supervision by the Department of Corrections. In a criminal proceeding for violating any of the Registry requirements under 13 V.S.A. § 5411d, a defendant shall be prohibited from challenging his or her status as a noncompliant high-risk sex offender. A noncompliant high-risk sex offender convicted of violating this section shall be sentenced under 13 V.S.A. § 3271. ______ (registrant initial)

Failure to Comply with Sex Offender Registry Requirements:

 \Box A sex offender who knowingly fails to comply the preceding requirements shall: (1) be imprisoned for not more than 2 years or fined not more than \$1,000, or both. A sentence

imposed shall run consecutively to any sentence being served by the sex offender at the time of sentencing; (2) For the 2nd or subsequent offense, be imprisoned not more than 3 years or fined not more than \$5,000.00, or both. A sentence imposed shall run consecutively to any sentence being served by the sex offender at the time of sentencing; (3) A sex offender who knowingly fails to comply for a period of more than five consecutive days shall be imprisoned not more than 5 years or fined not more than \$5,000.00, or both. A sentence imposed under this subsection shall run consecutively to any sentence being served by the sex offender at the time of sentencing; (3) A sex offender who knowingly fails to comply for a period of more than five consecutive days shall be imprisoned not more than 5 years or fined not more than \$5,000.00, or both. A sentence imposed under this subsection shall run consecutively to any sentence being served by the sex offender at the time of sentencing. ______ (registrant initial)

By signing below, I certify that I have been read and understand the above requirements of the Vermont Sex Offender Registry.

Registrant's Name (print):	
Registrant's Date of Birth / /	
Registrant's Signature:	_ Date:
Witness' Name (print):	
Witness' Signature:	Date:

□ Refused to initial or sign this notification

THIS FORM MUST BE SENT TO THE VCIC - SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY

In obtaining an annual photograph offenders shall ensure a photograph is sent to VCIC within 10 days of their birthdate.

Offender's who are homeless are required to call VCIC daily unless otherwise instructed by VCIC.

Other states have separate reporting requirement. This form notifies offenders of reporting requirements in Vermont. Offender's who travel, work, or reside out of state should contact the state to determine reporting requirements.

COORDINATOR WITHIN 24 HOURS OF ITS SIGNATURE.

Distribution: Inmate/Offender, OMS, VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator